College Distinguished Teaching Award

Award: $1000

Eligibility: All faculty

College Distinguished Teaching Awards are $1,000 awards in recognition of excellence in teaching. Fifteen awards are available each year and the distribution rotates among the Colleges. Awardees will be recognized at The Laurels award reception in September.

For this year's distribution, see the Awards home.

Eric Malina, 2012 CDTA recipient
Eric Malina, professor of Chemistry, 2012 recipient

Nomination Instructions

Each College Dean's office should send a letter naming the individuals recommended for the College Distinguished Teaching Awards based upon established College procedures, which should include input from a variety of individuals.

About the Award

In 1976, the Nebraska Legislature authorized the presentation of $1,000 stipends to selected faculty members to recognize outstanding teaching. Up to 15 awards are presented each year based on recommendations from the colleges, each of which have differing criteria for selection.